Free cultural event about Napoleon last days


To celebrate the bicentenary of the emperor’s death, the Alliance Française USA network the French cultural services are presenting on June 02 at 7 PM a conference by Thomas Crocker, about the publication of his latest book : Empire's Eagles: The Fate of the Napoleonic Elite in America (Prometheus Books 2021).  

This story begins at sunset on Sunday, June 18, 1815. Napoleon Bonaparte is in desperate flight from the battlefield at Waterloo. The Prussians and English are hard at his heels. Racing to reach Paris, he abandons on the road his bullet-proof coach and Imperial nécessaire containing a fortune in precious gems and cash. Will he stand and fight again or flee to the United States?

On the run and with his options dwindling by the day, Napoleon comes within one hour of secretly slipping to America on a Baltimore privateer arranged by the free-lancing U.S. Consul in Bordeaux. Empire's Eagles opens by telling the secret details of this story for the first time.

Eventbrite link : 
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/empires-eagles-the-fate-of-the-napoleonic-elite-in-america-tickets-153661745417


Wednesday June 2, 2021
4pm PST / 5pm MST / 6pm CST / 7pm EST

Event will be in English only. 

Enter your content here

WHAT OUR MEMBERS ARE SAYING

Stephen G.

"Alliance Française de Denver created a wonderful virtual environment where I spent my Summer vacation; visiting the winemaking area of Bouzy; celebrating Bastille Day; learning how to cook with flowers; touring historic châteaux and beautiful villages; all in the safety and comfort of my home. A real treat for any Francophone person; especially having a daily place for French chat to try out and maintain colloquial skills."


Stephen G.

Sue T.

“Anne is fantastic! The material is fast paced for this ‘old dog’ to learn new tricks, but we couldn’t go slower. It’s been very helpful to prepare me for my trip to France.”


Sue T.

Cristina G.

“A great place to learn and practice French while getting acquainted with French culture and interesting people. I definitely recommend AFD and their events. Je parle français! Et vous?”


Cristina G.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

©2018 Alliance Française de Denver | All Rights Reserved | Website by Oncord