“Proust for Beginners” with Caroline Weber

Friday, June 25, 2021
9am PST / 10am MST / 11am CST / 12pm EST
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA & French Cultural Services
In English

Have you read Marcel Proust? Do you just pretend to have read him? Are you afraid to even crack open In Search of Lost Time? No need to panic. Barnard’s Caroline Weber, a Proust expert, introduces us to the man, his milieu, his era and his writing.

Caroline Weber is professor of French and Comparative Literature at Barnard College, Columbia University; she has also taught at the University of Pennsylvania and Princeton. She’s the author of Queen of Fashion: What Marie-Antoinette Wore to the Revolution and has written for The New York Times, London Review of Books and many other publications. She’s currently a Guggenheim Fellow and a fellow at the NYPL Cullman Center for Scholars & Writers. She lives in New York City.

Pamela Druckerman is a Paris-based journalist and the author of five books.

This program, produced by Pandemonium U, is free to the public and is part of a series sponsored by the Federation of Alliances Françaises USA and the AF National Coordinator’s office of the French Cultural Services department of the French Embassy. Alliance Française and AATF members can register here to receive reminder messages and the Zoom link.




WHAT OUR MEMBERS ARE SAYING

Stephen G.

"Alliance Française de Denver created a wonderful virtual environment where I spent my Summer vacation; visiting the winemaking area of Bouzy; celebrating Bastille Day; learning how to cook with flowers; touring historic châteaux and beautiful villages; all in the safety and comfort of my home. A real treat for any Francophone person; especially having a daily place for French chat to try out and maintain colloquial skills."


Stephen G.

Sue T.

“Anne is fantastic! The material is fast paced for this ‘old dog’ to learn new tricks, but we couldn’t go slower. It’s been very helpful to prepare me for my trip to France.”


Sue T.

Cristina G.

“A great place to learn and practice French while getting acquainted with French culture and interesting people. I definitely recommend AFD and their events. Je parle français! Et vous?”


Cristina G.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

©2018 Alliance Française de Denver | All Rights Reserved | Website by Oncord